My First Cleanse

JuicingAs you all know, I just bought my juicer. Yay. Well it arrived at our home today, as did my glass bottles. Mr. CrazyRichLife and I went to the store to get me my first batch of  fruits and veggies. We spent $53.64 – Not bad for a week’s worth of juicing.

Breakdown

Romaine Lettuce – $3.98
Spinach – $4.48
Cucumber – $3.98 X 2 = $7.96
Celery – $2.68 X 2 = $5.36
Carrots – $2.98 X 3 = $8.94
Garlic 3lbs Peeled – $5.98
Pears  5lbs – $5.98
Limes 5lbs – $3.98
Apples 5lbs – $6.98

Total (no tax for produce – YAY) = $53.64

One bag of carrots is for a friend who asked me to get them for her. She gave me $3 for it so my real total comes out to $50.64. I did have a few berries at the house already that I can add to my juices so the cost of those aren’t included..  Also, the garlic should last a few months and it’s more for cooking than for juicing. I might try a few recipes with garlic but not very many. So my 1 week juicing cleanse comes out to $44.66. Not bad, especially considering the fact that a 3 day cleanse I was going to purchase was going to cost me $147.The only thing left is that I need to go and get some grapefruit, green apples, and some tomatoes at the supermarket. I’m also thinking of getting some loose leaf tea to help me in between “meals”

UPDATE

I went back to the store to pick a few more items. I realized that I need more variety. Also, juicing takes a LOT of fruits and veggies. I spent another $30 buying grapes, watermelon, grapefruit, sweet potatoes, tomatoes and lemons.

Have you ever juiced before? Did you think it was expensive? Check back next week to see my day to day breakdown and to read my ups and downs in my Juicing Diary.

11 thoughts on “My First Cleanse

    • I love my juicer as well. I feel like everyone should try a juicing cleanse; it’s a good good feeling. Thanks for sharing the recipes, I’m always looking for new ones.

  1. Good luck! I’m interested to see how it turns out for you. I’ve read a lot about juicing and liquid cleansing diets, and it’s some pretty fascinating stuff. I remember one thing I read or watched said that people who make cleansing a regular habit live longer than people who don’t, and the thought is that cleansing gives so many of your organs (especially those involved in digestion) a break.

    That said, I usually make it 2/3 of the way through one day before I’m like, “Ummm…. PIZZA!”

    • It’s definitely hard. Especially the first couple of days where you feel like a crack addict who is trying to get off drugs. I was seriously jittery and going crazy lol. Then you hit day 3 and it’s a bit easier, plus you start seeing results – skin has a nice glow, hair is softer; it’s nice.

  2. Pingback: Weekly Spending (June 30 – July 6) | mycrazyrichlife

  3. Hey, how did your juice cleanse go? I try to save money by making a juice “base” out of something inexpensive. Usually a cucumber or some bok choy or something. Then I add small amounts of other stuff.

    Let me know how it goes!

    • It’s great so far. I’m putting together my juicing diary with some recipes and my take on them. I should have it up by tomorrow. I’ve really enjoyed it and hope to keep it up for years to come .For cheaper stuff, I added carrots, celery and cucumbers. They give off a ton of juice and are not that expensive.

  4. Pingback: Weekly Spending (Aug 11 – Aug 17) | mycrazyrichlife

  5. Pingback: Weekly Link Love – It’s Gonna Be One Hot Summer Edition | MoMoneyMoHouses

Leave a Reply

