I broke down and bought shoes

wedges

Super cute new wedges I bought for $8 at Plato’s Closet.

It has to be a girl thing, how we get bored of our brand new clothes and shoes. Mr. CrazyRichLife has like 3 to 4 pairs at a time (that includes flip flops) and he wears them till they die. I mean just old, falling apart with holes in them kind of thing. Why can we girls be that way? I have God knows how many pairs – 30, 40 – I’m not even sure, more than I can count and I go and buy two more.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s not like I’m spending a ton of money on shoes, I always get them on sale or at consignment shops to save some money. I bought a cute pair of wedges and some super cute flats for $16. Not $16 each, $16 for both. That’s right, they were $8 a piece. Do you know how much cute wedges cost? Like $30 to $40, and that’s on the cheap side of shoes.

I got them at Plato’s Closet. I don’t know if you’ve ever been to a Plato’s but they have an awesome variety of cute clothes, shoes, handbags, and jewelry for super cheap. Yes, they are used, but it’s not like you’re getting them all gross and dirty and full of holes. It’s not like a Goodwill where you drop whatever crap you don’t want and they sell it for a dollar. Plato’s buys your used items so they only buy things that they know they’ll be able to sell. Items that are in good condition. I’ve even found items with the original price tag still in them.

The Excuses

I’m sure you read the sentences above and all you were thinking, excuses excuses. “It’s so cheap, I have to get it” or “I’m not paying full price” or “I haven’t bought anything in a while” and so on. And YOU ARE RIGHT. These are common excuses we, mostly girls, use to buy ourselves new clothes, shoes and accessories. It’s just so easy to make up an excuse. The saddest part is that we’re actually trying to justify it for ourselves, not for everyone else. We don’t want to feel guilty about our purchases so we tell ourselves, and others, that it’s ok because it was cheap, or on sale, or used or whatever.

Shopping is NOT bad

Shopping is not a bad thing, buying yourself a new item is not bad but like everything else, too much is not good. Especially if you have debt, or are saving up for a big move (ME) or for a house, car, new baby, etc. What’s more important to you? The best thing we can do is prioritize and give ourselves an allowance for the extra spending, like clothes or video games for boys. Don’t be too strict with your budget or you’ll just explode.

Most importantly, do NOT use a credit card for these purchases unless you already have the money set aside to pay it off.

One thought on “I broke down and bought shoes

  1. Pingback: Let’s Go Shopping For Young Children and Babies | Shopping , Buying & Spending Guide

Leave a Reply

